“Tell me about yourself.”

“My name is Alex.  I’m a third year advertising student at UNC-Chapel Hill, and… uh, what else do you want to know about me?”

I began with this sentence at an interview for a marketing position this past October.  And before you jump to conclusions, let me tell you, the interview went a lot better than you would think.  I proceeded to talk about the design internship that I held over the summer, as well as some of my past experiences and hobbies.  It wasn’t awkward at all, and I truly felt like my outgoing, engaging personality shone through.  After the interview, I thanked my recruiter for his time, gave him a firm handshake, and walked out of the room looking like this:

newtonx-large

I was floating on cloud nine.  The rest of the day, I relived every 100 I got on a test, every time I asked a girl out and wasn’t humiliated (three, FYI), and every time my dad came home from work with leftover General Tso’s.

The recruiter said I’d hear back in about two weeks.  So I patiently waited… and then two weeks came and went.  After three weeks, I received the dreaded message at the front of my inbox:

“Unfortunately, you have not been selected to move forward in the hiring process.”

😦

19giax-st-138

I wasn’t so much sad or disappointed as I was confused.  I mean, I thought I crushed it!  I was outgoing, thought I communicated my interests and skills well, didn’t waver, and bonded with this guy over Moneyball!  That’s gotta be a win, right?  To my dismay, apparently not.

I won’t ever know what led to my rejection.  However, what I do know is that I had to improve in some way .  Whether that is to be more articulate and ramble less, or be more refined in my knowledge of the industry and technical skills, that I also won’t ever know.  But anything is progress.

So when I decided to start this blog, it was to answer a lot of questions I’ve asked myself.  First, I really wanted to discover more about my identity.  I want to be able to thoroughly answer — unprompted — the question that I stumbled with from that university recruiter:  “Tell me about yourself.”

This blog an outlet to personally reflect and write down and weave together my own thoughts.  It’s also an opportunity for me to express myself, perhaps differently to others who know me.  A lot of people know me as outgoing, loud, encouraging, eccentric, anything of the sort.  I’ve always wanted to pour my personality out on the page, since my mind moves faster than my mouth can speak.  And thus, sometimes, I don’t think before I speak and the things I say lack substance or coherence.  I’ll take it one step at a time here.

I encourage you to read and react to the thoughts that I publish on this blog — this might as well be one of those kids’ diaries with the lock and key if I meant to keep this private.  Of course, you don’t have to read everything, because I’ll be putting anything that comes to my mind here, even if it’s just a personal monologue.  But you still can, if you want!

So, the big question:  What’s up with the name of your blog?

That’s for next time.

Leave a Reply

